Archive for October 8, 2013

1000524_10153022161355371_1214612707_nOur latest GO Wales work placement student, Susannah Hamilton, has just joined us for a 10 week internship. We invited her to write a blog to introduce herself…

After graduating in July with a BA English Literature from the University of Glamorgan, I was faced with the daunting thought that I would now have to enter the big wide world as a graduate jobseeker. I had broken free of my cocoon of full-time education and now had to prove myself in the working world. To cushion the change I spent three weeks travelling along the East coast of America, but when I returned I was ready and determined to conquer the job search.

The question I had been asked repeatedly since graduating was; what can you do with an English degree? But I already knew the answer to that, a career in PR! Back in January I had completed 10 days of work experience at a Cardiff PR agency and discovered I loved the industry, and that I could use many of my skills and experiences I had fine-tuned over the three years of my degree. My recent work experience in September at the Bristol offices of Grayling gave me the opportunity to further expand on my PR skills as I got the chance to write and sell-in my own press releases.

Now I am at the end of my first day of my 10 week placement at Petersens and so excited that they have given me this opportunity. The whole team have been so welcoming, with Rob bringing in delicious cupcakes for the morning meeting.  I can’t wait to see what I will get up to over the coming weeks and I’m looking forward to making my contribution to the team.

